Contemporary Danish Works

The works on this CD are all world premiere recordings, and have been composed especially for Kim Sjøgren and Lars Hannibal. The music represents different aspects of contemporary Danish music, and also reflects the variety of musical genres that Duo Concertante - worked with over the past fifteen years.

The contemporary repertoire for the combination of violin and guitar was very limited at the time, and Duo Concertante was very happy that these four outstanding Danish composers accepted the invitation of the Duo. For both Herman D. Koppel and Jørgen Jersild, it was the first time to write for the guitar, and being part of the process was an invaluable part of the duo's musical experience. Vagn Holmboe already knew the guitar very well as he previously composed many guitar works, including a solo sonata for Andrés Segovia.

Lars Hannibal writes: "Kim Sjogren and I first met in 1971 when we both studied at the Royal Conservatory of Music in Arhus. We played together from time to time - many different kinds of music, including folk, rock and jazz. In 1980. we started performing under the name Duo Concertante and continued until 1994. During that time we played more thanb a thousand concerts, recorded 10 CDs and appeared on many telelvision and radio programs.

Our performances were primarily limited to Denmakr, but we toured extensively in Spain, Germany and France. Our 10-year anniversary concert was held in Wignore Hall in London, with a program including Everything Matters - the first time electric amplified instruments were used in this wonderful historic concert hall! Our repertoire often reflected our interest in different kinds of music such as jazz and folk, though the essence of the programming was the classical compositions of Paganini, Giuliani, Sarasate, Ibert, Villa-Lobos, Grieg, Nielsen as well as the contemporary music written especially for us."

  • Lars Hannibal began playing the guitar at the age of 15 as many others of his generation. Some years later, a recording by Andrès Segovia, playing the Gavotte from Bach`s E-Major Partita, impressed him so much, that he decided to start playing the Classical guitar.


    Lars Hannibal

  • Kim Sjøgren (b.1955) became the youngest ever leader of the Royal Danish Orchestra at the age of 22, and was there for ten years.


    Kim Sjøgren

  • Herman D. Koppel (1908-1998) was Professor of piano at the Royal Academy of Music in Copenhagen, and composer. His works includes seven symphonies, four piano concerts, six string quartets, many instrumental concertos, music for choir, sacred music, chamber music and ballet.


    Herman David Koppel

  • Palle Mikkelborg is a trumpeter, and conductor, and one of the finest representatives in this country of the fusion of jazz and modern classical composition music.

    Composer / trumpet

    Palle Mikkelborg

  • Vagn Holmboe, Gordon Jacob’s Danish near-contemporary, was an enormously prolific composer, with almost 400 works to his credit. Holmboe began his compositional career in earnest following his entrance examination to the Royal Danish Academy of Music in Copenhagen, when the national composer Carl Nielsen looked through some of his compositions and encouraged him to continue.


    Vagn Holmboe

  • Jørgen Jersild (1913 – 2004) is in the unique position of having his relatively few, though extremely personal works well-known beyond the boundaries of the Scandinavian countries.


    Jørgen Jersild



“Each of these pieces is really good music-expressive, interesting, inventive, beautiful!” ARG

Keaton, American Record Guide


A super disk and well worth investigatin. Music Web International

Bob Briggs, MusicWeb International

© 2023 by OUR Recordings