top of page

Morten Jessen

Composer & multi-instrumentalist

Composer, multi-instrumentalist, and founder of the Nordic Church Ensemble. The genre-less encounter with the church space is the focal point of the compositional work. The space serves as a framework for a dreamy and timeless expression, where reminiscences of impressionism and Nordic melancholy blend with the tonal colors of the church space.

Concerts and Venues
Morten Jessen’s music has been performed at various Danish and international venues, festivals, and online platforms as well as on radio including the Lviv National Philharmonic, Sound Art Fes- tival at Koncertkirken, Danish National Radio P2, Night Owl live radio event at The Lake Radio, audiovisual release via the music blog Passive/Aggressive, and numerous churches including Elisnor Cathedral and the Holy Spirit Church. The music is published by Edition Svitzer and OUR Recordings.
Selected Collaborations
Arranged for and performed with artists such as The Savage Rose, Nikolaj Nørlund, Quadron, Phlake, Lukas Graham, Vinnie Who, Tivolis Bigband, Monday Night Bigband, Mikael Simpson, Iceage, Bisse, and Ulige Numre.

Trombonist from the Rhythmic Music Conservatory in Copenhagen (RMC). Organist and choir leader from the Zealand Church Music School in Roskilde.

Recent Releases
2023: The piece KYIV was created with a desire to show solidarity with the Ukrainian people and is a call to the Western countries to continue standing together in faith for a better future in a new and more fragmented world order. The work has recently been performed at the Lviv National Philharmonic and Elsinor Cathedral.
2022: The piece Your First Testament consists of four movements and is a reflection on the many phases of life and what each of us leaves behind. The work premiered at the Holy Spirit Church by the Nordic Church Ensemble.
2021: Fear Not the City Lights, a church music piece in four movements that revolves around the divine in a modern world. The work premiered at Høsterkøb Church by the Nordic Church Ensemble.
2019: Angel of Light a sound installation created in collaboration with composer Lars Greve con- sisting of eight interacting organs playing the sun down. The piece opened the Sound Art Festival at Koncertkirken in Copenhagen

bottom of page