top of page

Aarhus Jazz Orchestra


Aarhus Jazz Orchestra was founded in 1977 and is one of the leading big bands in Scandinavia. With curiosity and artistic courage, Aarhus Jazz Orchestra pushes the boundaries of the big band in a diverse array of innovative musical encounters.

With a highly professional approach to big band music, Aarhus Jazz Orchestra has a special focus on jazz and contemporary rhythmic music, and continues to attract, impress and overwhelm audiences as well as music critics.
Aarhus Jazz Orchestra consists of some of the best musicians from the Danish jazz scene and has over the years worked with some of the greatest jazz icons of our time, including Randy Brecker, Marilyn Mazur, John Scofield, Elaine Elias, David Sanborn, Dafnis Prieto and Mark Johnson. In 2016 the Orchestra won Danish Music Awards Jazz in the two categories ‘Danish Jazz Release of the Year’ and ‘Danish Jazz Composer of the Year’ for Jakob Buchanan’s work Requiem.

bottom of page