top of page

Lapland Chamber Orchestra


Founded in 1972, the Chamber Orchestra of Lapland is the most northerly professional orchestra in the European Union. It is a regional orchestra based on the town of Rovaniemi and gives performances both in the Province of Lapland and all over the arctic region and Finland. The orchestra has received a new concert hall and working rooms in the Culture House Korundi, where also the Rovaniemi Art Museum is situated.

The orchestra is often invited to such festivals as the Tampere Biennale, Viitasaari Time of Music, the Kaustinen Chamber Music Week, the North Norway Festival, the Korsholm Music Festival and the Luosto Classic event and the orchestra has also appeared in the Classics Series of the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra. In August 2014 the orchestra gave concerts in Carinthian Summer Music Festival in Austria and BBC Proms with great success. Besides the northern polar cap region the orchestra has visited Algeria, Denmark, Germany, Austria and the UK.

The orchestra frequently gives the Finnish premieres of works by composers of all nationalities and eras and the world premieres of music by many leading contemporary composers (such as Aulis Sallinen, Kalevi Aho, Pehr Henrik Nordgren, Bent Sorensen, David Maric and Sunleif Rasmussen). The orchestra has collaborated with top class orchestras and soloists such as BBC Symphony Orchestra, Hakan Hardenberger, Christian Teztlaff , Nicholas Daniel, Nicholas Kraemer, Piers Adams, Colin Currie and Sabine Mayer.

The Chamber Orchestra of Lapland has been awarded distinctions by Finland’s TV1 (1998) and the Arts Council of Lapland (2000) and John Storgards was the recipient of the culture prize of Rovaniemi and its rural district in 2000. TV1 also awarded its Vuoden Valopilkku prize for 2003 to the Luosto Symphony by Kalevi Aho premiered on Luosto Fell by the Chamber Orchestra of Lapland and the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra.

The Finnish Broadcasting Company YLE chose Kalevi Aho’s Rituals recording as Record of the Year 2009. The recording of Vagn Holmboe’s Chamber Symphonies has gotten excellent reviews worldwide and was one of the nominees for the Gramophone Award 2013. The orchestra’s latest recording Oi Jouluyö with Finnish soprano Soile Isokoski was released in November 2014
Violin 1
Reetta Kataja
Tino Fjeldl (track 1, 3-13)
Renata Mojzer (track 2)
Nina Ronkainen
Emilia Neuvonen

Violin 2
Riikka Silvonen
Ulla Hakokongas
Kaarel Veenre

Taru Lehto (track 1, 3-13)
Friederike Latzko (track 2)
Melanie Wadd
Iisa Kostiainen (track 1, 3-13)
Eeva Saari (track 2)

Lauri Angervo
Juuli Holma

Double bass
Jukka Rotola-Pukkila

bottom of page