top of page

Michael Bojesen


Since receiving his degree from The Royal Danish Academy of Music in 1984, Michael Bojesen has established a bold reputation with a striking profile in the Danish music scene, especially through his work as a conductor.

From 1989 to 2006, Bojesen was the conductor for Camerata, one of the leading chamber choirs in Denmark, with whom he has recorded numerous CDs and won many awards. Bojesen and the choir were awarded a Grammy for the best classical release in 1999 for their recording of Handel’s Messiah, and won first prize at the Euroradio choral competition, Let the People Sing in 2003.

Michael Bojesen was a senior lecturer at Sankt Annæ Gymnasium, The Copenhagen Choir School, from 1984 to 2000, and at The Royal Danish Academy of Music from 1994 to 2003, where he was a lecturer in choral conducting. In January 2001, Michael Bojesen was named principal conductor of the Danish National Girls Choir/DR. Under Bojesen’s leadership, the Danish National Girls Choir received numerous awards and rave reviews. At Kathaumixw international Choral Competition in Canada, the choir was named Choir of the World 2002, and at Lago di Garda Music Festival in 2010, the choir swept the awards in all categories. Bojesen resigned from his position as principal conductor for the Danish National Girls Choir/DR in 2010 and was then appointed honorary conductor.

Bojesen works with the Danish National Vocal Ensemble and Ars Nova Copenhagen. Additionally he works as an orchestra conductor for the Danish Radio Big Band, the Danish National Chamber Orchestra and the Danish National Symphony Orchestra, as well as various Danish regional orchestras. The CD The American Songbook, which was recorded with the Danish Radio Big Band and trumpet player Randy Brecker, conducted by Michael Bojesen, was nominated four American Grammy Awards.

As a conductor and arranger, Bojesen has worked across many genres and has had the pleasure to work with many prominent musicians and composers, including: Per Nørgaard, Ib Nørholm, Bo Holten, Bent Sørensen, Palle Mikkelborg, Michala Petri, Chris MinhDoky, Cæcilie Norby, Phil Woods, Randy Brecker, Martin Brygmann, Tobias Trier, Sigurd Barrett, Karen Busck, Anne Linnet, Thomas Dybdahl, Birthe Kjær and many others.

bottom of page