top of page

The Danish Chamber Players


Svend Melbye, flute, Som Howie, clarinet, Gunnar Eckhoff, bassoon, Stéphane Tran Ngoc, violin, Piotr Zelazny, viola, Tobias Lautrup, cello, Mette Franck, harp, Jakob Westh, piano.

The Danish Chamber Players, based in the modern art and music house KUMUS at the Fuglsang Manoron Lolland, are one of the five Danish ensembles that provide a substantial presence for professional classical music in otherwise remote areas of Denmark.
The ensemble was founded in 1991 and consists of eight high profile chamber musicians in a unique instrumental composition: three string players, three wind players, piano and harp. With firstclass classical concerts and an active music outreach effort, the ensemble creates great classical moments through various activities. The ensemble holds between 80-100 concerts and events every year. Alternative performance spaces and formats bring the music to a diverse audience. Over the years, more than 110 new works have been commissioned by the ensemble from prominent composers. With more than 30 CD recordings, numerous radio broadcasts and international collaborations, the Danish Chamber Players act as cultural ambassadors for Danish chamber music both nationally and internationally. The ensemble is supported by the Danish Arts Foundation, the Cultural Region of Storstrøm and its four municipalities, Næstved, Faxe, Lolland and Guldborgsund.

bottom of page