top of page

The Danish National Symphony Orchestra / DR


The Danish National Symphony Orchestra / DR was founded in 1925 and is one of the world`s oldest radio symphony orchestras.

Its current Chief Conductor is Thomas Dausgaard, with Yuri Temikanov as principal guest conductor and Herbert Blomstedt as Honorary Conductor. Two legendary conductors formed the orchestra in its early years - Fritz Busch and Nikolai Malko - and the orchestra has since then collaborated with some of the 20th century`s greatest composers as soloists and conductors: Igor Stravinsky, Sergei Prokofiev, Paul Hindemith, Pierre Boulez, Witold Lutoslawski, Karlheinz Stockhausen and Hans Werner Henze.

The Danish National Symphony Orchestra / DR has received a large number of international awards, and has successfully visited major cities in Europe, North and South America and Asia. Guest conductors over the last years have included Herbert Blomstedt, Christopher Hogwood, Kurt Sanderling, Giuseppe Sinopoli and Jukka-Pekka Saraste.

The orchestra`s discography includes a Sibelius and Mahler cycle as well as a long succession of Danish works – including several operas – for Dacapo Records, Chandos, EMI and Decca.

bottom of page